A Letter from Mark & Genesis

Thank you for taking the time to meet us. We’re excited to expand our family and share with our next child our home and love. Genesis enjoys being a stay-at-home mom to our daughter and looks forward to showing our next child affection, and Mark’s excited to teach our children many things. We look forward to getting to know you as well as sharing letters, photos, and occasional visits as our child grows.

Call or Text us
Learn More

About Us

We met 12 years ago while out with friends. Gen was impressed by Mark’s tango dancing, and we fell in love over many dates and dances. Three years later, we were married! We’ve enjoyed many vacations, holidays, and special events with each other and our families since then. We adopted our daughter, Lola, at birth in 2019, and every day since then she has been a blessing and a blast. We love to cook and bake together as a family, spend time at local parks and trails near our home, play with our dogs, and have dance parties. Our life is guided by our values of education, compassion, faith, and family; all things we are excited to share with our next child.

About Mark (by Gen)

My husband loves learning new things and is a wise, patient teacher and a great dad. He is loving and considerate. I’m often amazed by how he thoughtfully shows his love and appreciation for our family and me.

When Mark is not working, he enjoys fitness in his off time. He walks miles on his treadmill desk and still has the energy to play with our daughter after work. During college, he was in a circus acrobatics group and is excited to teach our children how to safely perform handstands when they’re older.

Mark is also an incredible cook. He makes his own pasta and sauce from scratch, and it’s the best! He recently started making homemade ice cream, and I have really enjoyed taste-testing his recipes!


About Genesis (by Mark)

Gen is loving and caring in all she does. Every day she wakes our daughter with a good morning song. She always makes sure that birthdays, celebrations, and holidays are special, bringing friends and family together and giving thoughtful gifts.

She is an amazing mom and provides a loving and supportive environment for the emotional, intellectual, and spiritual needs of our daughter. As a former dancer and current yoga enthusiast, Gen has been nurturing our daughter’s creativity since she was very little and is excited to do the same for our next child.

She’s a great designer and DIYer; her style is colorful, bold, and fun, and she’s done many updates to our home herself. Her skills have given our home a unique visual style that many of our friends have taken inspiration from into their own homes. She set up a great art station for our daughter and a gallery to show off her work.

Our Daughter and Pets

Our daughter, Lola, is a curious, energetic, independent 4-year-old. Since starting preschool last fall, we’ve seen her blossom and learn so much. She enjoys arts and crafts, hide-and-seek, reading, and caring for her dolls. We have a semi-open adoption with her birth mother (per her request) and talk about her adoption story with her frequently.

We have two dogs, Teddy (a Shih Tzu) and Mojo (a Maltipoo). Both are senior dogs and try to keep up with our daughter’s energy, especially at mealtimes! Their favorite activities are sitting under the dinner table hoping she’ll drop a treat for them, lounging in the yard, and playing with their toys.


Our Home in Texas

We love our four-bedroom home and large backyard. We’ve decorated it to be bright and comfortable, from the Montessori-style playroom to our green kitchen and the nursery with partial shiplap walls installed by Gen. We enjoy spending time as a family playing games in our cozy living room, chasing the dogs or playing on the swing set in our backyard, and snuggling up for movie nights on the comfy sofa in our pink TV room.

We live on a cul-de-sac in a safe neighborhood with great schools and are within walking distance of many playgrounds. Many of our neighbors are also families with young kids. We look forward to making many memories here.

Our Promise

We promise to provide a loving home and family for your child, with the stability and care that will enable them to reach for their dreams. We believe in allowing children the freedom to learn and explore within a solid framework, so they know they have a supportive network behind them always. We’re open to developing a relationship with you and your family as well as sharing letters, pictures, and occasional visits if you’d like. We promise to share your child’s adoption story with them from the beginning and that they will always know they are loved unconditionally.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Mark & Genesis

  Mark Genesis
Our EducationM.S. Computer ScienceB.A. Sociology
Our ProfessionsChief Technology OfficerHomemaker/Family Manager
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasian/LatinoLatina
Some of Mark & Genesis's Favorites
Snack foodQuesadillaChips and salsa
Song to dance toBlue Danube Waltz by StraussBetter When I'm Dancing by Meghan Trainor
Children's BookAesop's FablesMadeline by Ludwig Bemelmans
Vacation SpotItalyNew York City
Christmas MovieA Muppets' Christmas CarolChristmas in Connecticut
Words to Live ByServe God FirstHave Courage and Be Kind
More About Our Family
Our Family Traditions

Some of our favorite family traditions include:
1) Celebrating Three Kings' Day on the 12th Day of Christmas (Epiphany). Our daughter sets out a shoebox with grass the night before (to feed the camels) and loves waking up to the small gifts the Three Kings deliver.
2) St. Patrick's Day when we wear green, feast and have a dance party!
3) Sharing a favorite memory from the past year on each of our birthdays.
4) Doing a balloon drop on New Year's Eve.

Our Extended Family

We both have really wonderful families and love hosting big family gatherings at our house. Our extended family includes many aunts, uncles, cousins, nieces and nephews, as well as our parents and siblings. There are kids of all ages, so there will be many playmates of similar ages for our children to grow up with. There is also a lot of love for them to grow up surrounded by!

Typical Weekend with Us

-Friday Pizza Night: We each make our own pizzas with our favorite toppings, using our special pizza oven.
-Saturday Family Time: We love visiting our local farmer's market in the morning to try new foods and hit the playground or go for a walk. We love running through the sprinklers in our yard when it's hot out, or visiting our local splash pad. The day ends with a movie night, with lots of popcorn.
-Sunday Funday: Church, followed by donuts, and relax at home with the dogs and games.
-We're looking forward to: Spending time playing in the new backyard playhouse! (converted from our old shed - a DIY project of Gen's).

Fun Facts

-Mark has lived all over the world, including Melbourne, Australia and Beijing, China.
-Gen recently attended a yoga retreat in Tuscany, Italy.
-Mark was a founding member of the men's group at our church back in Chicago, where we previously lived.
-Gen learned to dance and received a dance scholarship and now dances whenever.
-Mark can do a one-armed push-up.
-Gen has read all the Jane Austen novels so many times that she's had to replace the books multiple times.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn to 6 years old





Sibling Group

Yes, with oldest up to 6 years old.

In Closing

Thank you for taking the time to learn about us. We look forward to welcoming your child into our lives and sharing with them our passion for family and fun. Adoption is very special to our family, and we look forward to building an open relationship with you in a way that is comfortable for all of us. Family is the most important thing to us, and we are excited to welcome your child into our hearts and home, and to love and support them throughout their life.

Call or Text us